Top Ten Tuesday #2

Top Ten Tuesdays is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. An idea for a “Top Ten” list relating to bookish things is posted every week on her blog.  For more information about the meme, click here.

There are two choices of what to post for today’s TTT. But since I have no idea how to pair a Contemporary book with a Classic, I’d go for what books I think would be best required to students or should be available in the library, at least. So here goes:

1. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

It’s a really great book that will make readers realize how important life is. There are people struggling to fight for their lives, so why do suicide? And also, it’s a great book about how to be strong when everything else feels like falling apart.

2. Looking for Alaska by John Green

Another John Green book that I loved! This is another book of John Green that made a really good point about life and friends. There are also so much to be learned from this book!

3. A Walk to Remember by Nicholas Sparks

Nicholas Sparks has been my favourite during my grade school years. I am so in love with his books. I think this book should be required since there are so many things to be learned from it. Although it somewhat focuses on romance, there are still parts where we learn so much from.

4. By the River Piedra I Sat Down and Wept by Paulo Coelho

This is the first Paulo Coelho book I ever read. Since I wasn’t really into these kinds of novels, I thought it’ll bore me but as soon as I started reading it, I was surprised that I’m loving the story. The words Paulo used aren’t really “simple words”, so this book must be required to be read by high school students. It really is a good book! One where there are so many lessons about life.

5. The Five People You Meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom

I’ve read this book this year. It’s a just a short read and I’m sure readers or beginners would love the story. There aren’t even any boring parts! It’s a story about life and how we should all treasure and love our life while we still have it.

6. Plagues & Federation: The Diary of Kitty Barnes by Vashti Farrer

I’ve read this book 8 years ago. I have been planning to re-read it but I can’t seem to find the book. But this was a book my favourite teacher from high school asked us to read for our book report. There’s a Bubonic that was killing large numbers of people.  The protagonist is Kitty Barnes who has so many issues in life. It’s just.. so great.

7. The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling

Well, the Harry Potter series, I think, will keep every student going and will find themselves falling in love with reading. I mean, who wouldn’t fall in love with the Harry Potter series?!

How about you guys? Have you posted your Top Ten list? Link them up here too! I’d love to read your list!

Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. I love this list! <3 Will def add some books to my to-be-read list. ;)

    Reply
    • Yay! And I totally want to know what your list would be. Even if your blog isn’t a book blog. Heee. <3 Thanks for dropping by, Mona! :)

      Reply
  2. Sigh I really wouldn’t want TFIOS to be a school read. I’d just spend the whole time swooning over Augustus and then crying over his death and I wouldn’t concentrate on the lesson at all! :p

    Reply
    • Haha. Well, I think there should be a “reading” subject. Where we’re allowed to read for 2 hours, maybe? =)) Thanks for dropping by, Sandra! :)

      Reply
  3. I nearly added A Walk To Remember to my list this week. I think it has a great message and deals with tough issues, like many of the other books on your list this week too. We share some of the same! :D

    Reply
    • I loved that book, although I haven’t got the time to re-read it (I’ve read it a couple of years ago), because there’s just so many books that I haven’t read yet and things just keeps getting in the way. It’s frustrating! U_U Wee! I’d definitely check your TTT list! :) Thanks for dropping by, Chrissi! :)

      Reply
  4. I’m so glad to see Harry Potter on so many lists today! It’s such a fantastic series. I haven’t heard of the rest of these books, but I’ve read both of the John Green books you listed and loved both of them. Great list!

    Reply
    • Me too! I was checking other blogger’s list and almost everyone included the Harry Potter series on them! I guess, Harry Potter will always have a special place in our hearts. It’s just.. awesome! And the movie is just as great too. And yes, omg those John Green books just left me crying!! Thanks for dropping by, Kayla! :)

      Reply
  5. You have an interesting site and list. Hope you drop by. I followed you :)

    Here’s my Top Ten Tuesday

    Rebecca @ Vicariously!

    Reply
  6. Okay hi. I know I am totally late but I just realized I haven’t stopped by in a while! Oh, and I love how you read Paulo Coelho and Mitch Albom! I used to read a lot of that when I was smaller, and I remember crying over their books for some reason XD I love The Fault In Our Stars too :) And I just noticed. New blog design? HAHA I approve :> It’s so cute!

    Reply
    • Hey! :) I do love Paulo Coelho! His books are so.. inspiring in some ways. And I’ve only read Five People by Mitch Albom. I’ve heard so much about his book, Tuesdays With Morrie too! And yes, everyone loves TFiOS. I mean srsly, I do not know of anyone who doesn’t love that book. Aww, and thank you! Haha. I’ve been into “watercolor” styles lately, so I figured I use them in my blog. Hahaha.

      Reply
  1. Top Ten Tuesday’s: Required Reading | A World of Books

Leave a Reply

