Review: The Elite

Title: The Elite (The Selection #2)
Author: Kiera Cass
Published: April 23, 2013 by HarperTeen
Pages: 323
Format: Paperback
Genre: YA Dystopian
Goodreads | Amazon

Thirty-five girls came to the palace to compete in the Selection. All but six have been sent home. And only one will get to marry Prince Maxon and be crowned princess of Iléa.

America still isn’t sure where her heart lies. When she’s with Maxon, she’s swept up in their new and breathless romance, and can’t dream of being with anyone else. But whenever she sees Aspen standing guard around the palace, and is overcome with memories of the life they planned to share. With the group narrowed down to the Elite, the other girls are even more determined to win Maxon over—and time is running out for America to decide.

Just when America is sure she’s made her choice, a devastating loss makes her question everything again. And while she’s struggling to imagine her future, the violent rebels that are determined to overthrow the monarchy are growing stronger and their plans could destroy her chance at any kind of happy ending.

Rating:

5 half

Review:

In The Selection, I was actually as confused as America when it comes to choosing between Aspen and Maxon. I seemed to like them both in some ways but for different reasons. (Read more?)

After reading The Elite, Aspen kind of gained more points for me. I can see how devoted he is to America and how willing he is to do anything for her, and how he fought for her. I was, on the other hand, disappointed with Maxon. I understand how confused he was with America’s feelings, but the pain of seeing someone you love with someone else? That’s just.. Unforgivable. I cannot really imagine myself being in that situation, it aches deep down inside just by the thought of it.

The Elite was better than The Selection, it was more detailed and there were more happenings. I felt the pressure, the pain and confusion that America went through. In some ways, I see myself in her. Like, when she was so confused about her feelings with Maxon because of everything that’s happened, so she held back her feelings and tried her best not to talk to him in that kind of way. I was kind of like that before, too (but not because there was another guy. Lol). Also, America’s passion to change the caste system was admirable, a lot of people weren’t in favour of what she did, but I was one of the few who admired her courage to tell the whole of Illea.

It was quite amazing how Kiera wrote this novel. From how to run a country, to one’s own problems and struggles, to choosing, and to love.

“It wasn’t like I made his world better. It was like I was his world. It wasn’t some explosion; it wasn’t fireworks. It was a fire, burning slowly from the inside out.”

After all the things that happened in this book, after having to look at America’s thoughts which was full of confusion, I was still able to smile through all of it in the end. And oh, I cannot wait to read The One!

How about you guys? Have you read this series already? What do you think about it? If not, I swear, you guys should read it!

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. I’m glad you liked this book! :D I honestly didn’t change my opinion much when it came to Aspen, because from the very start I knew how devoted he was to America, I was all for Maxon, but I couldn’t help but feel hurt for him, as well– it’s these kinds of love triangle that tug at my heartstrings too much its almost unbearable D: Anyway, my opinion of Maxon went on a roller coaster ride in this one. I so agree that his behavior became erratic, but somehow, I found myself attributing some of that to America, since she kept pushing him away and I was bothered. But of course, Prince or not, your behavior can still be deemed inexcusable. Maxon kind of lost his rationale, but in the end, I think I’m still leaning towards him :D And yeah, I was happy that America evolved into an independent and brave woman, not the little girl who whined and kept finding her way into Maxon’s arms just because she cried non-stop XD And great review Alena! Looking forward to The One :)

    Reply
    • I am actually frustrated a bit with everything, since I am confused with all three of them! Especially America! Haha. Anyway, I still like Maxon though. But Aspen did was the only one there for America the whole time. Thank you, Jasmine! I am looking forward to The One too! Can’t wait to know what her final decision would be. :))

      Reply
  2. TheBookishOwl

     /  August 14, 2013

    Oooh, I’m so excited to read this. I didn’t really like The Selection so I’m hoping that I’ll like The Elite better. Good review! :)

    Reply
  3. I so need to start this series! lovely review, i can’t wait to dive into the world of The Elite

    Reply
  1. Challenge — 2013 A-Z Book Title Challenge | entirelybooks

Leave a Reply

