Review: The Selection

Title: The Selection (The Selection #1)
Author: Kiera Cass
Release Date: April 24, 2012
Pages: 327
Format: Paperback

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

Rating:

Review:

I was looking for books to read in Goodreads when I found this. I was almost instantly attracted to its stunning cover but it took me quite a while to purchase the book. I actually love the girl’s dress on the cover and I really imagined her as America. (View post for the cover here.)

America is such a wonderful girl, I fell in love with her as soon as I started reading the book. I loved how down-to-earth, brave, selfless and loving she was. She stands up for what she believes in and what she wants in her life. She knows exactly what she wants for her future, and this is the part where Aspen enters the story. Her deep love for Aspen, her first love. Who just happens to break her heart. I just.. cannot stop my tears from falling when he broke her heart, it reminds me of how miserable a first heartbreak feels like.

When she was chosen for the Selection, she was scared of what will happen inside the palace, afraid of what lies ahead of her. But she remained strong for her family, for May (who’s really adorable, I must say) and mostly for herself. As the Selection went on, she stayed true to herself even when all the other girls tried their hardest be the most beautiful girl among them. She then develops a certain friendship with Prince Maxon. And now, she’s torn between her feelings for him and for her first love, Aspen.

“Lots of times when girls cry, they don’t want you to fix the problem, they just want to be consoled.”

As I got nearer to the end, I am as confused as America. I actually don’t know who’s perfect for her at the end anymore. Aspen and Maxon both have different assets that I actually find amazing. Therefore, I’m a Maxpenian! Heee. Cannot wait to know what happens in The Elite. Although, I’ll be reading The Prince first. How about you guys? What are you reading? :)

Leave a comment

21 Comments

  1. LOL at Maxpenian! XD I had the same feeling regarding the love triangle as well.
    Nice insight. :)

    Kyle @ selkiereadsstories.blogspot.com

    Reply
    • Haha! I really like them both! Well, I sort of hated Aspen for a while, after breaking America’s heart. But after a few, I loved how he wanted to fight for America. Hihi ;) Oh, thank you! :)

      Reply
  2. with the controversy about the author I’m not sure I’ll be reading it inless I get it at the library… great review!

    Reply
  3. I was absolutely Team Maxon during the first book but I kinda liked Aspen during the second book. He was kinda foolish, what with risking America’s reputation, still continuing their midnight trysts and so but he was also so sweet and I kinda understood why America couldn’t just shake him off.

    Reply
    • I was almost too sure that I am Team Maxon during America’s first few weeks in the Palace! But after Aspen showed up again and explained everything, I kind of felt how sincere he was and that he only wanted what’s best for America. And I’ve yet to read The Elite. I’m reading The Prince right now, though! :)

      Reply
  4. TEAM MAXON!!! HAHAHA. Okay, let me just cease the fangirling. I don’t think I loved this book as much as you did, though I probably enjoyed it more (I’m weird like that). I’m glad though, that you loved America’s character, because it took me quite a while to understand her. However, I loved her relationship with both Maxon and Aspen. I think she did her very best to keep them close, but not too close as to hurt the other. I understand what had to go through, although I really wished she’d just stop whining about it since she was obviously capable of finding a solution! And oh, this was a great review. Read The Elite!! :D I’ll wait for that review too. (The Prince sounds COOOOL)

    Reply
    • I’m already reading The Elite!! And well, right now, I am a little confused with America’s feelings.. I mean, it’s like she thinks she loves both Aspen and Maxon. Oh well, I have to finish reading this to actually know what happens. :)) I am currently thinking of strangling her. Haha. But not in the way that I hate her, just.. to wake her up that she cannot have them both. Lol! And yes, The Prince is an enovella (but I assume you know that already), I actually liked it. Although, I wanted it to be a little longer since I was hungry for Maxon’s POV. :)))

      Reply
      • WOOHOO! I actually found The Elite marginally better XD I STILL am on team Maxon though :D Have nothing against Aspen, but Maxon is just… dayumn. I’d love to read that enovella, if I had a means to :/ Anything from maxon’s POV, with or without reference to America, would be totally fine by me. Yup, looking forward to that review! Oh and, I study at Philippine Science, with reference to what you said about the hard courses on my post :D I guess that makes me smart in a way, though I’m having a real tough time XD I’m afraid of giving up my identity, but I’d definitely forego that to meet you. HAHA!

      • Do you want a copy of the ebook? I could send it to you through email if you want. :) and as for choosing from Aspen and Maxon, I’m afraid I like both of them, too. But I have yet to finish reading the book to really get to know both of them better. (Looool I feel like I am America with what I just said HAHA) Oh, so that’s why! Then don’t stress too much about it. Whatever your choice of school will be, it’ll be perfect. Heee And we should definitely meet! Omg, find me on facebook! :))))

      • Oh THANK YOU! Yes please, if you can :) Haha well, at one point in our lives, we all probably sound like America XD Yes wait, I shall look you up on facebook :)

      • Hmmm….. I can’t seem to find you! :( What name am I supposed to look for? :D

      • Haha. I sometimes want to slap her, though. She just keeps on whining about choosing between the two. And it sometimes frustrates me. Lol Anyway, I will send you the ebook through facebook instead. Here the link so wouldn’t have a hard time search for me in the search bar, http://facebook.com/ilylenn :)

      • At least she improves overtime :D And at least Maxon and Aspen make up for all of what she lacks XD Okay then, as long as you’ll help keep my identity safe. I’m a sensitive person HAHAHA

      • She does, though! And yes, she’s a really lucky bitch! Hahaha. I mean, two handsome guys?! Ugh. =)) I will! ;)

      • YEAH its hard to get yourself one hot guy, but she gets what. TWO. One is the epitome of perfection, and the other one would die for her. *sigh* =)) And thank you :)

      • I know!! Why are all the gorgeous guys a fictional character?!!! </3 Hahaha!

  1. Challenge — 2013 A-Z Book Title Challenge | entirelybooks
  2. Review: The Selection by @KieraCass | Abby J Reed

Leave a Reply

