Review: Where She Went

Title: Where She Went (If I Stay #2)
Author: Gayle Forman
Release Date: April 17, 2012
Pages: 260
Format: Paperback
Rating: ★

It’s been three years since the devastating accident . . . three years since Mia walked out of Adam’s life forever.

Now living on opposite coasts, Mia is Juilliard’s rising star and Adam is LA tabloid fodder, thanks to his new rock star status and celebrity girlfriend. When Adam gets stuck in New York by himself, chance brings the couple together again, for one last night. As they explore the city that has become Mia’s home, Adam and Mia revisit the past and open their hearts to the future – and each other.

Told from Adam’s point of view in the spare, lyrical prose that defined If I Stay, Where She Went explores the devastation of grief, the promise of new hope, and the flame of rekindled romance.

Review:

If I Stay and Where She Went has been on my to-read list for a long time. And when I got a copy of both, I was excited about it. I loved If I Stay, but Where She Went was way better.

In the end of If I Stay, I actually felt like I was left hanging. Left thinking, breathless and eager to read the next book.

In Where She Went, I was able to see Adam’s life—his longing, his loss, his grief, his thoughts, his pain and how he handled it. How he withdrew from the world—three years after.

Adam seems to be a perfect guy, even when he sometimes pertains to himself as an a-hole. He’s just perfect, the perfect combination of all a girl wants in a guy. I’ve never felt so much connected with a fictional character before, and maybe it’s because of just the way Adam is. His POVs made me realize that everyone has problems, that everyone undergoes pain.. That even when we see someone as perfectly happy, we don’t really know if they really are. Maybe they’re just hiding all their pain.

“But I’d do it again. I know that now. I’d make that promise a thousand times over and lose her a thousand times over to have heard her play last night or to see her in the morning sunlight. Or even without that. Just to know that she’s somewhere out there. Alive.” 

Maybe, the thing that made me love Adam even more is how I shared his pain. How I felt it as my own. Once again, Gayle Forman deserves a salute for Where She Went! Can’t wait to read her other books, Just One Day and Just One Year (Expected release date: October 15, 2013).

Next Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Brianne Irene Becker

     /  July 27, 2013

    Reblogged this on Brianne' s Library and commented:
    Summer Must Read

    Reply
  2. Oh yay!!! I’m in the middle of re-reading If I Stay for the Gayle Forman read along so I have this one coming up next! I loved seeing things from Adam’s POV and I can’t wait to read it all over again! So glad you loved it :D

    Reply
    • I know, it just made me cry and smile and all those mixed feels! I love Gayle Forman for If I Stay and Where She Went. I’ve yet to read her other books.

      Happy re-reading!! Thanks for visiting! :)

      Reply
  3. I lalalalove this book so much! I thought it was a bit better than the first book. I began to love Adam & Mia a lot more in Where She Went. The writing style was just perfect and the songs that the author came up with were just brilliant. I’m glad you ended up loving it too. It’s def. a must-read contemporary. :)

    Leigh, LBS★

    Reply
    • I also understood them more in Where She Went! And I know! Gayle Forman’s writing style was just.. If there ever was a word greater than perfect, that would be it. I’ve never felt so attached for a long time. And yes, hooray for If I Stay and Where She Went fans! <3 Thank you for reading my review, Leigh! :)

      Reply
  1. Day 6: A Book That Makes Me Sad | A Book Junkie

Leave a Reply

