Review: If I Stay

If I Stay cover

Title: If I Stay (If I Stay #1)
Author: Gayle Forman
Release Date: April 2, 2009
Pages: 262
Format: Paperback
Rating: ★

Synopsis:

On a day that started like any other..

Mia had everything: a loving family, a gorgeous, adoring boyfriend, and a bright future full of music and full of choices. Then, in an instant, almost all of that is taken from her. Caught between life and death, between a happy past and an unknowable future, Mia spends one critical day contemplating the only decision she has left-the most important decision she’ll ever make.

    Simultaneously tragic and hopeful, this is a romantic, riveting and ultimately uplifting story about memory, music, living, dying, loving.

Review:

This book has been in my to-read list for God knows how long, so finally I was able to read it. This is also my first time to read Gayle Forman and I am both impressed and amazed by her writing style and how she’s always straight to the point. I was already hooked ever since the introductory part. I swear, I didn’t know I’d get so much feels over this book, I even actually thought that it’ll be one of those books with a lot of clichés.

I knew I was going to fall in love with Adam as soon as he entered the story (I am easily attracted to band-boys in real life, actually), I love how he did everything he could just to prove Mia how much he loves her, his effortless attractive smile, his simple acts of love, the way he believes in Mia and how he is crazy in love with her despite and in spite of their differences and problems. And Mia, God, I adore her, how strong she is and how she loves her family. And Mia’s family, I love how her Dad’s into music and I love how her Mom’s sometimes a bitch and Teddy, I always find him adorable. Also, I love Gramps, quiet but loving Gramps. He resembles my Grandfather so much, since I’m always close to my Grandpa, I literally bawled my eyes out over what he said to Mia.

If I Stay isn’t just the typical love story you usually come across. It’s unpredictable and will keep you reading til dawn. It’ll keep you up at night crying and bawling your eyes out over the scenes and will keep you turning pages.

“Girlfriend is such a stupid word, I couldn’t stand calling her that. So, we had to get married, so I could call her “wife””

I swear, everyone must read this book! Gayle Forman put the perfect words together, it will leave you breathless and thinking.. What would you do if you had to choose?

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Funny thing, I read this one til dawn too. This book is absolute perfection. I guess it’s kinda why I’m hesitant to write a review for it because I fear I might not give it justice. Nice review though! :)

    Reply
    • I know! And I’m sure Where She Went will be just as great. And Gayle Forman’s Just One Day, too! I heard it’ll have a second book. Can’t wait to read them! And thank you for reading my review! :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

